good hotels in Krakow

restaurants in Krakow

travel to Krakow

Krakow info service

Districts of Krakow

information about Krakow, Poland - attractions & entertainment & culture & business & nightlife & transport & shopping & art & music & theater & museums & landmarks & curios & lifestyle & education & festivals & customs & tours & people

Krakow Info website doesn’t use cookies nor gathers personal data but advertisers and services providers may do it on their own responsibility. Privacy policy.

Krakow info logoKrakow Info home page

for mobile







Krakow Boroughs - Municipal Districts and Historic Neighborhoods. 

In 1991 a resolution of its City Council has divided Krakow into eighteen boroughs called ‘dzielnica’ (district). Yet most of their inhabitants still tend to use previous designations and cling to older delineation when the municipality consisted of just four big quarters – Srodmiescie (i.e. downtown), Krowodrza, Podgorze, and Nowa Huta.

At the same time, in today’s Krakow there are still in use tens of historic names that create a patchwork of overlapping areas of distinct identities. Their appellations are derived from the names of towns and villages once surrounding the historic Krakow (which now constitutes the Old Town central district) as they have been incorporated into the city, names of former districts, names given to residential areas developed on green-field sites, neighborhoods, etc.


Krakow’s historic districts.

Most interesting are four areas of contemporary Krakow with strong identities that used to form separate cities: Old Town, Kazimierz, Podgorze, and Nowa Huta. Medieval Krakow, the historic capital of Poland, consists in the Old Town – Stare Miasto in Polish – within the limits of the Planty ring of gardens, even if contemporary municipal district of the same name is larger. The town of Kazimierz, famous for its Jewish quarter, had been established in 1335 and was merged with Krakow in 1800. Podgorze was founded in 1784 on the opposite bank of Wisla (Vistula) river and has been incorporated into Krakow in 1915. Lastly, in 1949 Nowa Huta was launched as a communist model city to become the easternmost part of Krakow in 1951.


Eighteen boroughs of Krakow

Districts of the municipality of Krakow boast local governments with few responsibilities that rarely go beyond advisory role in decision-making process on the part of the City Council and mayor. Krakow’s present-day 18 boroughs are as follows:

1st District – Dzielnica I Stare Miasto (Old Town). Area 580 hectares, population 43,600. Borders with districts 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 7th, 8th, and 13th.

2nd District – Dzielnica II Grzegorzki. Area 583 hectares, population 33,000. Borders with districts 1st, 3rd, 12th, and 14th.

3rd District – Dzielnica III Pradnik Czerwony. Area 650 hectares, population 47,500. Borders with districts 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 15th.

4th District – Dzielnica IV Pradnik Bialy. Area 2,288 hectares, population 65,500. Borders with districts 3rd, 5th, and 6th.

5th District – Dzielnica V Krowodrza. Area 535 hectares, population 36,000. Borders with districts 1st, 4th, 7th, and 6th.

6th District – Dzielnica VI Bronowice. Area 1,354 hectares, population 22,400. Borders with districts 4th, 5th, and 7th.

7th District – Dzielnica VII Zwierzyniec. Area 2,843 hectares, population 20,200. Borders with districts 1st, 5th, 6th, and 8th.

8th District – Dzielnica VIII Debniki. Area 4,216 hectares, population 51,600. Borders with districts 1st, 7th, 9th, 10th, and 13th.

9th District – Dzielnica IX Lagiewniki-Borek Falecki. Area 532 hectares, population 14,350. Borders with districts 8th, 10th, 11th, and 13th.

10th District – Dzielnica X Swoszowice. Area 2,289 hectares, population 18,600. Borders with districts 8th, 9th, 11th, and 12th.

11th District – Dzielnica XI Podgorze Duchackie. Area 894 hectares, population 52,350. Borders with districts 9th, 10th, 12th, and 13th.

12th District – Dzielnica XII Biezanow-Prokocim. Area 1,641 hectares, population 63,650. Borders with districts 10th, 11th, and 13th.

13th District – Dzielnica XIII Podgorze. Area 2,456 hectares, population 32,200. Borders with districts 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 14th, and 18th.

14th District – Dzielnica XIV Czyzyny. Area 1,079 hectares, population 25,500. Borders with districts 2nd, 3rd, 13th, 15th, 16th, and 18th.

15th District – Dzielnica XV Mistrzejowice. Area 553 hectares, population 54,500. Borders with districts 3rd, 14th, 16th, 17th, and 18th.

16th District – Dzielnica XVI Bienczyce. Area 376 hectares, population 45,100. Borders with districts 14th, 15th, 17th, and 18th.

17th District – Dzielnica XVII Wzgorza Krzeslawickie. Area 2,584 hectares, population 20,300. Borders with districts 15th, 16th, and 18th.

18th District – Dzielnica XVIII Nowa Huta. Area 7226 hectares, population 59,200. Borders with districts 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th, and 17th. 

Please link to each webpage of Krakow Info website as you wish. We give permission to all hyperlinks and there is no need to ask.

Krakow tours and day trips
Touring Krakow and its vicinity.

Suggested itineraries in Krakow

Krakow Old Town

Kazimierz Town in Krakow

Nowa Huta

Stroll through Krakow's Kazimierz District

Local Government of Krakow

Getting around Krakow
Take advantage of the city's transport system.

Travel to Krakow
Over seven millions visit Krakow every year. 



Krakow Info HOME PAGE

Copyright © 2007-2020 by MAREK STRZALA. All rights reserved.