hotels in Krakow

travel to Krakow

good restaurants in Krakow

Krakow Info

Local Government in Krakow

information about Krakow in Poland - attractions & entertainment & culture & business & nightlife & travel & transport & shopping & art & music & theater & museums & landmarks & curios & lifestyle & education & festivals & customs & tours & people

Krakow Info website doesn’t use cookies nor gathers personal data but advertisers and services providers may do it on their own responsibility. Privacy policy.

Please link to each webpage of Krakow Info website as you wish. We give permission to all hyperlinks and there is no need to ask.

Krakow Info home page

for mobile







The Town Hall Tower in Krakow

The 13th-century Gothic tower in the Grand Square is the only remnant of Krakow's medieval town hall.

Krakow’s Local Government 

Poland has three-tier local government: province ‘wojewodztwo’, county ‘powiat’, and commune ‘gmina’; each level with its own representative council and an executive. Krakow is the capital of the Malopolska wojewodztwo, one of the most prominent provinces among the country’s sixteen. 

As in the case of other major Polish cities, Krakow’s local government is county and commune rolled into one municipality. The legislative City Council consists of 43 members chosen in popular ballot by way of proportional representation. The executive power lies with mayor (called ‘prezydent’) elected by citizens in a two-tier majority vote. Both the city council and the mayor serve four-year terms. 


The city's current powers 

In 2002 Krakow's citizens chose Professor Jacek Majchrowski as their first mayor ever voted in by popular ballot. In November 2006, in December 2010, and in November 2014 they elected him for his second, third, and fourth term in the office respectively. 

Two Poland's biggest political parties passed the five-percent threshold in the latest local election in Krakow on November 16th, 2014 and have got representatives in the City Council. The right-wing Law and Justice (Prawo i Sprawiedliwosc, PiS) won the plurality of 19 seats while its arch-rival, the centrist Civic Platform (Platforma Obywatelska, PO), claimed 18 councilors. The remaining six seats have gone to the independent ticket formed by the incumbent mayor Jacek Majchrowski. 

The Krakow municipality has its headquarters in the city's Old Town historic district, in the 16th-century Renaissance Wielopolskich Palace, adjoining the basilica of St. Francis'.

Office address of the City President (mayor) as well as the City Council is: 3/4 Wszystkich Swietych Pl. 
Postal address: Urzad Miasta Krakowa, Pl. Wszystkich Swietych 3/4, 31-004 Krakow, Poland. 
Telephone number of the mayor's office is (+48) 126161398 and (+48) 126161350. 

Mayor's email address is 

Krakow Data

Politics in Krakow

Krakow Geography

Krakow Weather

Krakow History

Krakow Economy

Krakow Culture

Krakow Environment

Krakow Wildlife

Business in Krakow

Information about Poland


Krakow Info HOME PAGE

Copyright 2003-2018 by MAREK STRZALA. All rights reserved.